a buddhist grief observed

A Buddhist Grief Observed by Guy Newland

Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Release : 2016-08-09
Format : All Formats
Download : 136
ISBN-13 : 9781614293224
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Amid the world-shattering pain of loss, what helps? “After the death of his beloved partner from cancer, Newland finds himself asking how effective his long years of Buddhist practice have been in helping him come to terms with overwhelming grief. This finely written book offers a lucid meditation on what it means to practice the Dharma when everything falls apart.” —Stephen Batchelor, author of Buddhism without Beliefs and After Buddhism In the tradition of C. S. Lewis’s A Grief Observed, Guy Newland offers this brave record of falling to pieces and then learning to make sense of his pain and grief within his spiritual tradition. Drawing inspiration from all corners of the Buddhist world—from Dogen and the Dalai Lama, to Pema Chödrön and ancient Pali texts—this book reverberates with honesty, kindness, and deep humanity. Newland shows us the power of responding fully and authentically to the death of a loved one. “A sad, beautiful, and necessary book—and a map waiting for many who will need it.” —James Ishmael Ford, author of If You’re Lucky Your Heart Will Break “Guy Newland faces squarely the pain of death and the pain of grief and offers a work of uncommon power, insight, and honesty—and extraordinary compassion.” —Jay L. Garfield, author of Engaging Buddhism

The Magnanimous Heart by Narayan Helen Liebenson

Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Genre : Self-Help
Release : 2019-01-22
Format : All Formats
Download : 224
ISBN-13 : 9781614295082
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In her long-awaited debut, a beloved master teacher shows us how to move from the “constant squeeze” of suffering to a direct experience of enoughness. The magnanimous heart is a heart of balance and buoyancy, of generosity and inclusivity. It allows us to approach each moment exactly as it is, in a fresh and alive way free from agendas and “shoulds,” receiving all that arises. It has the capacity to hold anything and everything, transforming even vulnerability and grief into workable assets. In writing evocative of Pema Chödrön’s, Narayan Helen Liebenson teaches us exactly how it is possible to turn the sting and anguish of loss into a path of liberation—the deep joy, peace, and happiness within our own hearts that exists beyond mere circumstances. The Magnanimous Heart shows us how to skillfully respond to painful human emotions through the art of meditative inquiry, or questioning wisely. Readers will learn how to live from a compassionate love that guides our lives and warms whatever it shines upon. With metta and compassion as companions and allies, we discover how our own magnanimous hearts can gently allow the inner knots to untie themselves.

Bearing The Unbearable by Joanne Cacciatore

Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Genre : Family & Relationships
Release : 2017-06-27
Format : All Formats
Download : 248
ISBN-13 : 9781614292968
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

If you love, you will grieve—and nothing is more mysteriously central to becoming fully human. When a loved one dies, the pain of loss can feel unbearable—especially in the case of a traumatizing death that leaves us shouting, “NO!” with every fiber of our body. The process of grieving can feel wild and nonlinear—and often lasts for much longer than other people, the nonbereaved, tell us it should. Organized into fifty-two short chapters, Bearing the Unbearable is a companion for life’s most difficult times, revealing how grief can open our hearts to connection, compassion, and the very essence of our shared humanity. Dr. Joanne Cacciatore—bereavement educator, researcher, Zen priest, and leading counselor in the field—accompanies us along the heartbreaking path of love, loss, and grief. Through moving stories of her encounters with grief over decades of supporting individuals, families, and communities—as well as her own experience with loss—Cacciatore opens a space to process, integrate, and deeply honor our grief. Not just for the bereaved, Bearing the Unbearable will be required reading for grief counselors, therapists and social workers, clergy of all varieties, educators, academics, and medical professionals. Organized into fifty-two accessible and stand-alone chapters, this book is also perfect for being read aloud in support groups.

Publisher : Routledge
Genre : Philosophy
Release : 2018-07-20
Format : All Formats
Download : 388
ISBN-13 : 9781351383301
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

While indeterminacy is a recurrent theme in philosophy, less progress has been made in clarifying its significance for various philosophical and interdisciplinary contexts. This collection brings together early-career and well-known philosophers—including Graham Priest, Trish Glazebrook, Steven Crowell, Robert Neville, Todd May, and William Desmond—to explore indeterminacy in greater detail. The volume is unique in that its essays demonstrate the positive significance of indeterminacy, insofar as indeterminacy opens up new fields of discourse and illuminates neglected aspects of various concepts and phenomena. The essays are organized thematically around indeterminacy’s impact on various areas of philosophy, including post-Kantian idealism, phenomenology, ethics, hermeneutics, aesthetics, and East Asian philosophy. They also take an interdisciplinary approach by elaborating the conceptual connections between indeterminacy and literature, music, religion, and science.

A Grief Observed by Clive Staples Lewis

Publisher :
Genre : Consolation
Release : 1973
Format : All Formats
Download : 59
ISBN-13 : OCLC:714995889
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Grieving Mindfully by Sameet M. Kumar

Publisher : New Harbinger Publications
Genre : Self-Help
Release : 2005-07-01
Format : All Formats
Download : 176
ISBN-13 : 9781608824250
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Grief is a personal journey, never the same for any two people and as unique as your life and your relationships. Although loss is an inevitable part of life, how you approach this fact can make the difference between meaningless pain and the manifestation of understanding and wisdom. This book describes a mindful approach to dealing with grief that can help you make that difference. By walking this mindful path, you will discover that you are capable of transforming and healing the grief you carry and finding the spiritual and emotional resilience you need to move through this challenging time. These mindfulness practices, explained here in simple and practical language, will help you bear your time of grief. But they will do more than that, too. They will guide you to a life more fully lived, with more meaning. These simple practices will help you experience what richness comes from asking deeper questions about loss and about life.

Appearance And Reality by Guy Newland

Publisher : Snow Lion Publications, Incorporated
Genre : Religion
Release : 1999
Format : All Formats
Download : 107
ISBN-13 : STANFORD:36105028494271
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

When someone seeks to understand Buddhism, where should one start: With the elaboration on what it means to take refuge in the three jewels?

Inner Revolution by Robert Thurman

Publisher : Penguin
Genre : Religion
Release : 1999-03-01
Format : All Formats
Download : 336
ISBN-13 : 9781101664469
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The New York Times calls him "America's number one Buddhist." He is the co-founder of Tibet House New York, was the first American Tibetan Buddhist monk, and has shared a thirty-five-year friendship with the Dalai Lama. Now, Robert Thurman presents his first completely original book, an introduction to Buddhism and "an inspiring guide to incorporating Buddhist wisdom into daily life" (USA Today). Written with insight, enthusiasm, and impeccable scholarship, Inner Revolution is not only a national bestseller and practical primer on one of the world's most fascinating traditions, but it is also a wide-ranging look at the course of our civilization--and how we can alter it for the better. "Part spiritual memoir, part philosophical treatise and part religious history, Thurman's book is a passionate declaration of the possibilities of renewing the world" (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

The Other Side Of Sadness by George A. Bonanno

Publisher : Basic Books
Genre : Psychology
Release : 2009-09-22
Format : All Formats
Download : 240
ISBN-13 : 9780465019946
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A renowned psychologist reveals the power of human resilience in dealing with grief and loss The conventional view of grieving--encapsulated by the famous five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance--is defined by a mourning process that we can only hope to accept and endure. In The Other Side of Sadness, psychologist and emotions expert George Bonanno argues otherwise. Mourning is far from predictable, and all of us share a surprising ability to be resilient. Our inborn emotions--anger and denial, but also relief and joy--help us deal effectively with loss. To expect or require only grief-stricken behavior from the bereaved does them harm. In fact, grieving goes beyond mere sadness, and it can actually deepen interpersonal connections and even lead to a new sense of meaning in life. The Other Side of Sadness is a must-read for those going through the death of a loved one, mental health professionals, readers interested in neuroscience and positive psychology, and anyone eager to understand our ability to thrive in the face of adversity.

Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Genre : Philosophy
Release : 2018-05-15
Format : All Formats
Download : 400
ISBN-13 : 9781614295457
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The second volume in the Dalai Lama’s definitive and comprehensive series on the stages of the Buddhist path, The Library of Wisdom and Compassion. Volume 1, Approaching the Buddhist Path, contained introductory material that set the context for Buddhist practice. This second volume, The Foundation of Buddhist Practice, contains the important teachings that will help us establish a flourishing Dharma practice. The Foundation of Buddhist Practice begins with the four seals shared by all Buddhist philosophies, and moves on to an explanation of the reliable cognition that allows us to evaluate the veracity of the Buddha’s teachings. The book provides many other essential Buddhist teachings, including: the relationship of a spiritual mentor and student, clarifying misunderstandings about this topic and showing how to properly rely on a spiritual mentor in a healthy, appropriate, and beneficial manner; how to structure a meditation session; dying and rebirth, unpacking the often difficult-to-understand topic of multiple lives and explaining how to prepare for death and aid someone who is dying; a fruitful explanation of karma and its results; and much more. His Holiness’s illumination of key Buddhist ideas will support Western and contemporary Asian students in engaging with this rich tradition.