a grief observed readers edition

Publisher : Faber & Faber
Genre : Religion
Release : 2014-12-30
Format : All Formats
Download : 160
ISBN-13 : 9780571310883
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In April 1956, C.S. Lewis, author of The Chronicles of Narnia, married Joy Davidman, an American poet with two small children. After four intensely happy years, Davidman died of cancer and Lewis found himself alone again, and inconsolable. In response, he wrote this journal, freely confessing his pain, rage, and struggle to sustain his faith. In it he finds the way back to life. Now a modern classic, A Grief Observed has offered solace and insight to countless readers worldwide. This new edition includes the original text of A Grief Observed alongside specially commissioned responses to the book and its themes from respected contemporary writers and thinkers: Hilary Mantel, Jessica Martin, Jenna Bailey, Rowan Williams, Kate Saunders, Francis Spufford and Maureen Freely.

A Grief Observed by C.S. Lewis

Publisher : Faber & Faber
Genre : Religion
Release : 2012-10-04
Format : All Formats
Download : 64
ISBN-13 : 9780571265794
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A Grief Observed comprises the reflections of the great scholar and Christian on the death of his wife after only a few short years of marriage. Painfully honest in its dissection of his thoughts and feelings, this is a book that details his paralysing grief, bewilderment and sense of loss in simple and moving prose. Invaluable as an insight into the grieving process just as much as it is as an exploration of religious doubt, A Grief Observed will continue to offer its consoling insights to a huge range of readers, as it has for over fifty years. 'A classic of the genre, a literary answer to the pain of loss.' Robert McCrum

A Grief Observed by Clive Staples Lewis

Publisher :
Genre : Consolation
Release : 1973
Format : All Formats
Download : 59
ISBN-13 : OCLC:714995889
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Publisher : Holman Reference
Genre : Religion
Release : 2017-10
Format : All Formats
Download : 100
ISBN-13 : 1462766099
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Shepherd's notes helps readers better learn the books of the Bible and Christian classic writings in a concise and easy-to-understand format.

Lament For A Son by Nicholas Wolterstorff

Publisher :
Genre : Bereavement
Release : 1997
Format : All Formats
Download : 111
ISBN-13 : 0281050945
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Publisher : HarperCollins UK
Genre : Religion
Release : 2012-05-31
Format : All Formats
Download : 1584
ISBN-13 : 9780007488759
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

An ebook compilation of inspirational writings, featuring seven classic works in one high quality, fully searchable edition:

Grief Day By Day by Jan Warner

Publisher : Althea Press
Genre : Family & Relationships
Release : 2018-09-25
Format : All Formats
Download : 272
ISBN-13 : 1641521317
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Grief Day by Day offers supportive readings and exercises to help you move through life after loss, one day at a time. Grief is complex. It is ever changing and may come to us differently on any given day. Grief Day by Day offers reflections and practices that address the day-to-day feelings that accompany the ever changing process of grief. In Grief Day by Day, Jan Warner draws on her own extensive experience and the experiences of the 2 million followers on her Grief Speaks Out Facebook page to offer hope in its most practical form. This book does not look to offer a solution to grief. Rather, it provides supportive, useful guidance to help you create a life in which peace, and even gratitude, can coexist with your grief. Inside the pages of Grief Day by Day you'll find: 365 Daily Reflections that include quotes, meditations, and other musings on grief Weekly Themes that capture common feelings and experiences such as: Loneliness, Things Left Unsaid, Unhealthy Coping Mechanisms, Guilt, and Intimacy 52 Healing Exercises that help you process your feelings at the end of each week and develop skills for coping with grief as it arises There is no "right way" to grieve, and there is no right way to use this book. Whether you follow it page by page, or select that which seems most relevant to you at the moment, how you use this book is less important than why you are using it. You're using this book because you have chosen to honor your experience, to make a home for your grief, and to find a new way of living on the bridge between loss and life.

Good Grief by Granger E. Westberg

Publisher : Fortress Press
Genre : Self-Help
Release : 2019-02-01
Format : All Formats
Download : 80
ISBN-13 : 9781506454481
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Timeless wisdom for all who grieve For more than fifty years Good Grief has helped millions of readers, including NFL players and a former first lady, find comfort and rediscover hope after loss. This classic text includes a foreword by Dr. Timothy Johnson, a leading communicator of medical health care information. An afterword by the author's daughters tells how the book came to be. Good Grief identifies ten stages of grief--shock, emotion, depression, physical distress, panic, guilt, anger, resistance, hope, and acceptance--but, recognizing that grief is complex and deeply personal, defines no "right" way to grieve. Good Grief offers valuable insights on the emotional and physical responses persons may experience during the natural process of grieving. Reflection questions help readers explore their own experience with each stage. Whether mourning the death of a loved one, the end of a marriage, the loss of a job, or other difficult life changes, Good Grief is a proven steady companion in times of loss.

Discrepant Solace by David James

Publisher : Oxford University Press
Genre : Literary Criticism
Release : 2019-05-23
Format : All Formats
Download : 320
ISBN-13 : 9780192506931
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Consolation has always played an uncomfortable part in the literary history of loss. But in recent decades its affective meanings and ethical implications have been recast by narratives that appear at first sight to foil solace altogether. Illuminating this striking archive, Discrepant Solace considers writers who engage with consolation not as an aesthetic salve but as an enduring problematic, one that unravels at the centre of emotionally challenging works of late twentieth- and twenty-first-century fiction and life-writing. The book understands solace as a generative yet conflicted aspect of style, where microelements of diction, rhythm, and syntax capture consolation's alternating desirability and contestation. With a wide-angle lens on the contemporary scene, David James examines writers who are rarely considered in conversation, including Sonali Deraniyagala, Colson Whitehead, Cormac McCarthy, W.G. Sebald, Doris Lessing, Joan Didion, J. M. Coetzee, Marilynne Robinson, Julian Barnes, Helen Macdonald, Ian McEwan, Colm Tóibín, Kazuo Ishiguro, Denise Riley, and David Grossman. These figures overturn critical suppositions about consolation's kinship with ideological complaisance, superficial mitigation, or dubious distraction, producing unsettling perceptions of solace that shape the formal and political contours of their writing. Through intimate readings of novels and memoirs that explore seemingly indescribable experiences of grief, trauma, remorse, and dread, James demonstrates how they turn consolation into a condition of expressional possibility without ever promising us relief. He also supplies vital traction to current conversations about the stakes of thinking with contemporary writing to scrutinize affirmative structures of feeling, revealing unexpected common ground between the operations of literary consolation and the urgencies of cultural critique. Discrepant Solace makes the close reading of emotion crucial to understanding the work literature does in our precarious present.

A Buddhist Grief Observed by Guy Newland

Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Release : 2016-08-09
Format : All Formats
Download : 136
ISBN-13 : 9781614293224
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Amid the world-shattering pain of loss, what helps? “After the death of his beloved partner from cancer, Newland finds himself asking how effective his long years of Buddhist practice have been in helping him come to terms with overwhelming grief. This finely written book offers a lucid meditation on what it means to practice the Dharma when everything falls apart.” —Stephen Batchelor, author of Buddhism without Beliefs and After Buddhism In the tradition of C. S. Lewis’s A Grief Observed, Guy Newland offers this brave record of falling to pieces and then learning to make sense of his pain and grief within his spiritual tradition. Drawing inspiration from all corners of the Buddhist world—from Dogen and the Dalai Lama, to Pema Chödrön and ancient Pali texts—this book reverberates with honesty, kindness, and deep humanity. Newland shows us the power of responding fully and authentically to the death of a loved one. “A sad, beautiful, and necessary book—and a map waiting for many who will need it.” —James Ishmael Ford, author of If You’re Lucky Your Heart Will Break “Guy Newland faces squarely the pain of death and the pain of grief and offers a work of uncommon power, insight, and honesty—and extraordinary compassion.” —Jay L. Garfield, author of Engaging Buddhism