A Square Meal


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

James Beard Foundation Book Award Winner From the author of the acclaimed 97 Orchard and her husband, a culinary historian, an in-depth exploration of the greatest food crisis the nation has ever faced—the Great Depression—and how it transformed America’s culinary culture. The decade-long Great Depression, a period of shifts in the country’s political and social landscape, forever changed the way America eats. Before 1929, America’s relationship with food was defined by abundance. But the collapse of the economy, in both urban and rural America, left a quarter of all Americans out of work and undernourished—shattering long-held assumptions about the limitlessness of the national larder. In 1933, as women struggled to feed their families, President Roosevelt reversed long-standing biases toward government-sponsored “food charity.” For the first time in American history, the federal government assumed, for a while, responsibility for feeding its citizens. The effects were widespread. Championed by Eleanor Roosevelt, “home economists” who had long fought to bring science into the kitchen rose to national stature. Tapping into America’s long-standing ambivalence toward culinary enjoyment, they imposed their vision of a sturdy, utilitarian cuisine on the American dinner table. Through the Bureau of Home Economics, these women led a sweeping campaign to instill dietary recommendations, the forerunners of today’s Dietary Guidelines for Americans. At the same time, rising food conglomerates introduced packaged and processed foods that gave rise to a new American cuisine based on speed and convenience. This movement toward a homogenized national cuisine sparked a revival of American regional cooking. In the ensuing decades, the tension between local traditions and culinary science has defined our national cuisine—a battle that continues today. A Square Meal examines the impact of economic contraction and environmental disaster on how Americans ate then—and the lessons and insights those experiences may hold for us today. A Square Meal features 25 black-and-white photographs.

Product Details :

Author by Jane Ziegelman
Genre eBook Cooking
Read Book 336
ISBN Number 9780062216434

Three Squares


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

We are what we eat, as the saying goes, but we are also how we eat, and when, and where. Our eating habits reveal as much about our society as the food on our plates, and our national identity is written in the eating schedules we follow and the customs we observe at the table and on the go. In Three Squares, food historian Abigail Carroll upends the popular understanding of our most cherished mealtime traditions, revealing that our eating habits have never been stable—far from it, in fact. The eating patterns and ideals we’ve inherited are relatively recent inventions, the products of complex social and economic forces, as well as the efforts of ambitious inventors, scientists and health gurus. Whether we’re pouring ourselves a bowl of cereal, grabbing a quick sandwich, or congregating for a family dinner, our mealtime habits are living artifacts of our collective history—and represent only the latest stage in the evolution of the American meal. Our early meals, Carroll explains, were rustic affairs, often eaten hastily, without utensils, and standing up. Only in the nineteenth century, when the Industrial Revolution upset work schedules and drastically reduced the amount of time Americans could spend on the midday meal, did the shape of our modern “three squares” emerge: quick, simple, and cold breakfasts and lunches and larger, sit-down dinners. Since evening was the only part of the day when families could come together, dinner became a ritual—as American as apple pie. But with the rise of processed foods, snacking has become faster, cheaper, and easier than ever, and many fear for the fate of the cherished family meal as a result. The story of how the simple gruel of our forefathers gave way to snack fixes and fast food, Three Squares also explains how Americans’ eating habits may change in the years to come. Only by understanding the history of the American meal can we can help determine its future.

Product Details :

Author by Abigail Carroll
Genre eBook History
Read Book 344
ISBN Number 9780465040964

The John Blake Chronicles


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

You've just found the ultimate erotic science-fiction series!It's 2779 and a retired Terran Federation Marine has taken up life as a trader. Follow John Blake's adventures as he travels the galaxy on his freighter, the "Fool's Gold". This is the first book in a massive epic full of beautiful women, rampaging aliens, gunfights, space combat, and a mysterious heritage that will shake the foundations of the galaxy...A multi-award winning adult space opera by M Tefler.

Product Details :

Author by M. Tefler
Genre eBook
Read Book 190
ISBN Number 1549902911

Ensuring A Square Meal


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Research on women and food security in Southeast Asia has been limited. The collection of chapters in Ensuring a Square Meal: Women and Food Security in Southeast Asia is one of the first attempts at providing a lens into the linkages between women and food security at the household, community, national, and transnational levels. More broadly, the chapters examine women's contribution in households, resource distribution to produce food, and the purchasing power to buy food. In analysing the various facets of food security in relation to gender, the analyses focus on the meanings of 'private' and 'public', and the extent to which the effects of the two spheres spill over into each other. Given women's critical role in food production and provision, the book assesses the structural forces enabling women to access productive resources and, in turn, ensure sustainable strategies for food security; as well as it evaluates how governments might address the constraints women face in this vital role.

Product Details :

Author by Devasahayam Theresa W
Genre eBook Social Science
Read Book 264
ISBN Number 9789813231917

Oz The Complete Collection Volume 3 Bind Up


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In The Patchwork Girl of Oz, the Munchkins Unc Nunkie and Ojo the Unlucky call on the Crooked Magician, who introduces them to his latest creation: a living girl made out of patchwork quilts and cotton stuffing. But when an accident leaves beloved Unc Nunkie a motionless statue, it is up to Ojo to save him. As he searches for the magic ingredients that will restore his uncle to life, Ojo wonders if the mighty Wizard of Oz can help? In Tik-Tok of Oz, Betsy Bobbin and her loyal mule, Hank, wash up on the shores of an unknown fairyland during a storm. There they meet the clockwork man, Tik-Tok, and find themselves trapped in a battle with the king of the Nomes. In The Scarecrow of Oz, Cap'n Bill and Trot journey to Oz and, with the help of the Scarecrow, overthrow the cruel King Krewl of Jinxland.

Product Details :

Author by L. Frank Baum
Genre eBook Juvenile Fiction
Read Book 720
ISBN Number 9781471117190

Oz The Complete Collection Volume 3


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Explore the wonder of Oz in this collection of books seven through nine in L. Frank Baum’s classic American fairy tale series. The seventh, eighth, and ninth titles of the iconic Oz series, now in one collection! In The Patchwork Girl of Oz, the Munchkins Unc Nunkie and Ojo the Unlucky call on the Crooked Magician, who introduces them to his latest creation: a living girl made out of patchwork quilts and cotton stuffing. But when an accident leaves beloved Unc Nunkie a motionless statue, it is up to Ojo to save him. Can the mighty Wizard of Oz help? In Tik-Tok of Oz, Betsy Bobbin and her loyal mule, Hank, wash up on the shores of an unknown fairyland during a storm. There they meet the clockwork man Tik-Tok and find themselves trapped in a battle with the king of the Nomes. In The Scarecrow of Oz, Cap’n Bill and Trot journey to Oz and, with the help of the Scarecrow, overthrow the cruel King Krewl of Jinxland, who has been busy gathering an army for an invasion of Oz. Will they be able to stop the invasion?

Product Details :

Author by L. Frank Baum
Genre eBook Juvenile Fiction
Read Book 720
ISBN Number 9781442485549

97 Orchard


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

“Social history is, most elementally, food history. Jane Ziegelman had the great idea to zero in on one Lower East Side tenement building, and through it she has crafted a unique and aromatic narrative of New York’s immigrant culture: with bread in the oven, steam rising from pots, and the family gathering round.” — Russell Shorto, author of The Island at the Center of the World 97 Orchard is a richly detailed investigation of the lives and culinary habits—shopping, cooking, and eating—of five families of various ethnicities living at the turn of the twentieth century in one tenement on the Lower East Side of Manhattan. With 40 recipes included, 97 Orchard is perfect for fans of Rachel Ray’s Hometown Eats; anyone interested in the history of how immigrant food became American food; and “foodies” of every stripe.

Product Details :

Author by Jane Ziegelman
Genre eBook History
Read Book 272
ISBN Number 0061997900

Truth


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Author by
Genre eBook
Read Book
ISBN Number UIUC:30112075841095

Spanish Grade 3


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Features activities that teach Spanish vocabulary, the Spanish alphabet, first sentences, Spanish introductions and greetings, listening skills, Spanish songs and chants.

Product Details :

Author by Brighter Child
Genre eBook Juvenile Nonfiction
Read Book 80
ISBN Number 9780769676333

Grade 5 Brain Teasers And Critical Thinking Activities


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Sharpen fifth graders' critical-thinking skills with these brain-teasing activities. Parents, students, and teachers will love these fun challenges, puzzles, and logical thinking pages. They're a great way to practice higher-order thinking skills.

Product Details :

Author by Carol Eichel
Genre eBook
Read Book 6
ISBN Number 9781480771918