It Gets Worse


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER New York Times bestselling author Shane Dawson returns with another highly entertaining and uproariously funny essay collection, chronicling a mix of real life moments both extraordinary and mortifying, yet always full of heart. Shane Dawson shared some of his best and worst experiences in I Hate Myselfie, the critically acclaimed book that secured his place as a gifted humorist and keen observer of millennial culture. Fans felt as though they knew him after devouring the New York Times, Publishers Weekly, Los Angeles Times, and Wall Street Journal bestseller. They were right… almost. In this new collection of original personal essays, Shane goes even deeper, sharing never-before-revealed stories from his life, giving readers a no-holds-barred look at moments both bizarre and relatable, from cult-like Christian after-school activities, dressing in drag, and losing his virginity, to hiring a psychic, clashes with celebrities, and coming to terms with his bisexuality. Every step of the way, Shane maintains his signature brand of humor, proving that even the toughest breaks can be funny when you learn to laugh at yourself. This is Let's Pretend This Never Happened and Running With Scissors for the millennial generation: an inspiring, intelligent, and brutally honest collection of true stories by a YouTube sensation-turned one of the freshest new voices out there.

Product Details :

Author by Shane Dawson
Genre eBook Humor
Read Book 256
ISBN Number 9781501132858

I Hate Myselfie


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A collection of 20 original, unstinting essays by the young YouTube vlogger and creator of Not Cool shares intimate insights into his personal life, highlighting moments from his childhood, his rise on YouTube and his experiences as a filmmaker. Original.

Product Details :

Author by Shane Dawson
Genre eBook Biography & Autobiography
Read Book 240
ISBN Number 9781476791548

Book


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The ground beneath the book publishing industry dramatically shifted in 2007, the year the Kindle and the iPhone debuted. Widespread consumer demand for these and other devices has brought the pace of digital change in book publishing from "it might happen sometime" to "it’s happening right now"—and it is happening faster than anyone predicted. Yet this is only a transitional phase. Book: A Futurist’s Manifesto is your guide to what comes next, when all books are truly digital, connected, and ubiquitous. Through this collection of essays from thought leaders and practitioners, you’ll become familiar with a wide range of developments occurring in the wake of this digital book shakeup: Discover new tools that are rapidly transforming how content is created, managed, and distributed Understand the increasingly critical role that metadata plays in making book content discoverable in an era of abundance Look inside some of the publishing projects that are at the bleeding edge of this digital revolution Learn how some digital books can evolve moment to moment, based on reader feedback

Product Details :

Author by Hugh McGuire
Genre eBook Business & Economics
Read Book 307
ISBN Number 9781449305604

A Collection Of Essays


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In this bestselling compilation of essays, written in the clear-eyed, uncompromising language for which he is famous, Orwell discusses with vigor such diverse subjects as his boyhood schooling, the Spanish Civil War, Henry Miller, British imperialism, and the profession of writing.

Product Details :

Author by George Orwell
Genre eBook Literary Criticism
Read Book 324
ISBN Number 0547416512

Read This If


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

You are an individual-your very own set of specific characteristics and experiences and emotions. And yet, so much of what you're going through is relatable to so many others. This book will show you that you are never alone. Read this book if nobody texted you good morning. Read this book if you're worried that you'll never find the one. Read this book if there's something you can't forgive yourself for. Whatever you're feeling, this book will help you to feel understood.

Product Details :

Author by Thought Catalog
Genre eBook
Read Book 164
ISBN Number 1533014663

A Sucky Love Story


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Where does a moderately popular internet star who never leaves her house look for potential suitors? Online. Tinder, Bumble, Match.com, OkCupid—I tried them all. My thirty-one-year-old self clicked and swiped her little heart out, leading to more dates than I could count, and more disappointment than I was prepared for. Maybe you can relate. Maybe you know all too well the perils of modern dating. But let’s say, eventually, you meet someone. You think to yourself, “Wow, they’re perfect! Take me off the market, put a ring on it, knock me up, the whole enchilada, because they are ‘the one.’” Let’s also say that they “feel the same way” about you. Your life starts to make sense! All the pain, heartbreak, and frustration from past failed relationships was worth it. Slow clap. That’s how I felt about Milos. He was from Europe, a doctor, wealthy, athletic. He had an accent and a dog. Milos was textbook marriage material. For him it was “love at first sight,” but for me, it was “anxiety on every date.” Something was telling me to run—but for two years, the only running I did was straight into his arms. If only I would have listened. This isn’t a love story. It’s my story of survival.

Product Details :

Author by Brittani Louise Taylor
Genre eBook Family & Relationships
Read Book 410
ISBN Number 9781642930016

You Don T Have To Like Me


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

"Hilarious...[Nugent] documents her journey to feminism while skewering misogynist tropes and delivering some painful truths." –Publishers Weekly (starred review) “Feminist” is not a four-letter word, but Alida Nugent resisted it for a long time. She feared the “scarlet F” being thrust upon her for refusing to laugh at misogynistic jokes at parties; she withered under the judgmental gaze of store clerks when buying Plan B, and she swore that she was “not like other girls.” But eventually, like so many of us, she discovered that feminism is an empowering identity to take on. It’s okay to criticize beauty standards but still love dark lipstick, investing in female friendships is the most rewarding thing ever, and no one should feel pressured to eat an “unseasoned chicken breast the size of a deck of playing cards” as every sad dinner for the rest of eternity. With sincerity, intelligence, and wit, Nugent invites readers in to her most private moments of personal growth. From struggling with an eating disorder for most of her teen years to embracing all aspects of her biracial identity, she tackles tough topics with honest vulnerability. Smartly-written, unapologetic, and laugh-out-loud funny, You Don’t Have to Like Me is perfect for readers of Roxane Gay, Rebecca Skolnit, and Sloane Crosley. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Product Details :

Author by Alida Nugent
Genre eBook Humor
Read Book 240
ISBN Number 9780698176034

When I Was A Child I Read Books


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A NATIONAL BESTSELLER Ever since the 1981 publication of her stunning debut, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson has built a sterling reputation as a writer of sharp, subtly moving prose, not only as a major American novelist (her second novel, Gilead, was awarded the Pulitzer Prize), but also as a rigorous thinker and incisive essayist. Her compelling and demanding collection The Death of Adam—in which she reflects upon her Presbyterian upbringing, investigates the roots of Midwestern abolitionism and mounts a memorable defence of Calvinism—is respected as a classic of the genre, and praised by Doris Lessing as “a useful antidote to the increasingly crude and slogan-loving culture we inhabit.” In When I Was a Child I Read Books, Robinson returns to and expands upon the themes that have preoccupied her work with renewed vigour. In “Austerity as Ideology,” she tackles the global debt crisis and the charged political and social climate in America that makes finding a solution to the country’s financial troubles so challenging. In “Open Thy Hand Wide,” she searches out the deeply embedded role of generosity in Christian faith. And in “When I Was a Child,” one of her most personal essays to date, an account of her childhood in Idaho becomes an exploration of individualism and the myth of the American West. Clear-eyed and forceful as ever, Robinson demonstrates once again why she is regarded as one of North America’s essential writers.

Product Details :

Author by Marilynne Robinson
Genre eBook Literary Collections
Read Book 224
ISBN Number 9781443410946

The Book Of Delights


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER As Heard on NPR's This American Life “Ross Gay’s eye lands upon wonder at every turn, bolstering my belief in the countless small miracles that surround us.” —Tracy K. Smith, Pulitzer Prize winner and U.S. Poet Laureate The winner of the NBCC Award for Poetry offers up a spirited collection of short lyric essays, written daily over a tumultuous year, reminding us of the purpose and pleasure of praising, extolling, and celebrating ordinary wonders. In The Book of Delights, one of today’s most original literary voices offers up a genre-defying volume of lyric essays written over one tumultuous year. The first nonfiction book from award-winning poet Ross Gay is a record of the small joys we often overlook in our busy lives. Among Gay’s funny, poetic, philosophical delights: a friend’s unabashed use of air quotes, cradling a tomato seedling aboard an airplane, the silent nod of acknowledgment between the only two black people in a room. But Gay never dismisses the complexities, even the terrors, of living in America as a black man or the ecological and psychic violence of our consumer culture or the loss of those he loves. More than anything other subject, though, Gay celebrates the beauty of the natural world--his garden, the flowers peeking out of the sidewalk, the hypnotic movements of a praying mantis. The Book of Delights is about our shared bonds, and the rewards that come from a life closely observed. These remarkable pieces serve as a powerful and necessary reminder that we can, and should, stake out a space in our lives for delight.

Product Details :

Author by Ross Gay
Genre eBook Literary Collections
Read Book 288
ISBN Number 9781616208905

Medieval Liturgy


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Originally published in 1997, Medieval Liturgy is a unique and interesting collection of nine essays that explores medieval liturgy from three distinct perspectives: historical, liturgical, and theological. The book includes contributions from eminent scholars of the time and discusses the development of 9th to 11th century ordines, the meaning of the Mass in the 12th and 13th centuries, medieval preaching, ordination practices, popular penance practices, marriage rites, the role of music in Eucharistic liturgy, and the relationship between liturgical architectural space and theology.

Product Details :

Author by Lizette Larson-Miller
Genre eBook History
Read Book 328
ISBN Number 9780429514517