Never Any End To Paris


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A splendid ironic portrayal of literary Paris and of a young writer’s struggles by one of Spain’s most eminent authors. This brilliantly ironic novel about literature and writing, in Vila-Matas’s trademark witty and erudite style, is told in the form of a lecture delivered by a novelist clearly a version of the author himself. The “lecturer” tells of his two-year stint living in Marguerite Duras’s garret during the seventies, spending time with writers, intellectuals, and eccentrics, and trying to make it as a creator of literature: “I went to Paris and was very poor and very unhappy.” Encountering such luminaries as Duras, Roland Barthes, Georges Perec, Sergio Pitol, Samuel Beckett, and Juan Marsé, our narrator embarks on a novel whose text will “kill” its readers and put him on a footing with his beloved Hemingway. (Never Any End to Paris takes its title from a refrain in A Moveable Feast.) What emerges is a fabulous portrait of intellectual life in Paris that, with humor and penetrating insight, investigates the role of literature in our lives.

Product Details :

Author by Enrique Vila-Matas
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 208
ISBN Number 9780811220163

Never Any End To Paris


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Trying to be Ernest Hemingway is never easy. After reading A Moveable Feast, aspiring novelist Enrique Vila-Matas moves to Paris to be closer to his literary idol, Ernest Hemingway. Surrounded by the writers, artists and eccentrics of '70s Parisian café culture, he dresses in black, buys two pairs of reading glasses, and smokes a pipe like Sartre. Now, in later life, he reflects on his youth while giving a three-day lecture on irony. And he’s still convinced he looks like Hemingway. Never Any End to Paris is a hilarious, playful novel about literature and the art of writing, and how life never quite goes to plan.

Product Details :

Author by Enrique Vila-Matas
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 208
ISBN Number 9781448182923

Never Any End To Paris


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

"New Directions paperbook original"--T.p.

Product Details :

Author by Enrique Vila-Matas
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 197
ISBN Number 9780811218139

A Moveable Feast


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Ernest Hemingway’s classic memoir of Paris in the 1920s, now available in a restored edition, includes the original manuscript along with insightful recollections and unfinished sketches. Published posthumously in 1964, A Moveable Feast remains one of Ernest Hemingway’s most enduring works. Since Hemingway’s personal papers were released in 1979, scholars have examined the changes made to the text before publication. Now, this special restored edition presents the original manuscript as the author prepared it to be published. Featuring a personal Foreword by Patrick Hemingway, Ernest’s sole surviving son, and an Introduction by grandson of the author, Seán Hemingway, editor of this edition, the book also includes a number of unfinished, never-before-published Paris sketches revealing experiences that Hemingway had with his son, Jack, and his first wife Hadley. Also included are irreverent portraits of literary luminaries, such as F. Scott Fitzgerald and Ford Maddox Ford, and insightful recollections of Hemingway’s own early experiments with his craft. Widely celebrated and debated by critics and readers everywhere, the restored edition of A Moveable Feast brilliantly evokes the exuberant mood of Paris after World War I and the unbridled creativity and unquenchable enthusiasm that Hemingway himself epitomized.

Product Details :

Author by Ernest Hemingway
Genre eBook Biography & Autobiography
Read Book 208
ISBN Number 9780743237291

Paris Never Leaves You


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

"Masterful. Magnificent. A passionate story of survival and a real page turner. This story will stay with me for a long time." —Heather Morris, author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Cilka's Journey Living through World War II working in a Paris bookstore with her young daughter, Vivi, and fighting for her life, Charlotte is no victim, she is a survivor. But can she survive the next chapter of her life? Alternating between wartime Paris and 1950s New York publishing, Ellen Feldman's Paris Never Leaves You is an extraordinary story of resilience, love, and impossible choices, exploring how survival never comes without a cost. The war is over, but the past is never past.

Product Details :

Author by Ellen Feldman
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 368
ISBN Number 9781250622785

Paris Without End


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

“A bittersweetmodern love story [that] reads as easily as a novel.” —Vogue Hemingway’screative influences for novels like The Sun Also Rises, A Farewell toArms, and The Old Man and the Sea came not only from his famoushunting trips, his liaisons in Cuba, or his relationships with Gertrude Stein,F. Scott Fitzgerald, James Joyce and other Lost Generation writers. DuringHemingway’s period of greatest literary foment, his most seminal relationshipwas with Hadley Richardson, his first wife. In Paris Without End,acclaimed author Gioia Diliberto,biographer of Jane Addams and Brenda Frazier, delivers a gripping, novelisticexploration of Hadley’s personality and her role in Hemingway’s life, finally unclouding our view of Hemingway’s relationship with theone woman he never stopped loving.

Product Details :

Author by Gioia Diliberto
Genre eBook Biography & Autobiography
Read Book 400
ISBN Number 0062108832

In Paris With You


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

"A pure delight." -- #1 New York Times bestselling author Nicola Yoon For fans of Eleanor & Park and Emergency Contact comes a sweeping romance about the love that got away. Eugene and Tatiana could have fallen in love, if things had gone differently. If they had tried to really know each other, if it had just been them, and not the others. But that was years ago and time has found them far apart, leading separate lives. Until they meet again in Paris. What really happened back then? And now? Could they ever be together again after everything?

Product Details :

Author by Clémentine Beauvais
Genre eBook Young Adult Fiction
Read Book 320
ISBN Number 9781250299178

Paris In Love


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

“Exhilarating and enchanting . . . brims with a casual wisdom about life.”—Chicago Tribune In 2009, New York Times bestselling author Eloisa James took a leap that many people dream about: She sold her house, took a sabbatical from her job as a Shakespeare professor, and moved her family to Paris. This memoir chronicles her joyful year in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Eloisa revels in the ordinary pleasures of life—discovering corner museums that tourists overlook, chronicling Frenchwomen’s sartorial triumphs, walking from one end of Paris to another. She copes with her Italian husband’s notions of quality time; her two hilarious children, ages eleven and fifteen, as they navigate schools—not to mention puberty—in a foreign language; and her mother-in-law’s raised eyebrow in the kitchen (even as she overfeeds Milo, the family dog). Paris in Love invites the reader into the life of a most enchanting family, framed by la ville de l’amour. NATIONAL BESTSELLER “In this delightful charm-bracelet of a memoir, [Eloisa James shares] her adventures as an American suddenly immersed in all things French—food, clothes, joie de vivre.”—People “Enchanting . . . gives the reader a sense of being immersed along with James in Paris for a year . . . you see the rain, taste the food, observe the people.”—USA Today “This delectable confection, which includes recipes, is more than a visit to a glorious city: it is also a tour of a family, a marriage, and a love that has no borders. Très magnifique!”—Library Journal (starred review)

Product Details :

Author by Eloisa James
Genre eBook Biography & Autobiography
Read Book 272
ISBN Number 9780679604440

We Ll Never Have Paris


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Fiction and essays inspired by Paris from more than 70 Anglophone writers -- A MoveableFeast for the twenty-first century. "When good Americans die, they go to Paris", wrote the Irish playwright Oscar Wilde in 1894. The French capital has always radiated an unmatched cultural, political and intellectual brilliance in the anglophone imagination, maintaining its status as the modern cosmopolitan city par excellence through the twentieth century to today. We'll Never Have Paris explores this enduring fascination with this myth of a bohemian and literary Paris (that of the Lost Generation, Joyce, Beckett and Shakespeare and Company) which also happens to be a largely anglophone construct -- one which the Eurostar and Brexit only seem to have exacerbated in recent years. Edited by Andrew Gallix, this collection brings together many of the most talented and adventurous writers from the UK, Ireland, USA, Australia and New Zealand to explore this theme through short stories, essays and poetry, in order to build up a captivating portrait of Paris as viewed by English speakers today -- A Moveable Feast for the twenty-first century. We'll Never Have Paris includes contributions from seventy-nine authors, including Tom McCarthy, Will Self, Brian Dillon, Joanna Walsh, Eley Williams, Max Porter, Sophie Mackintosh and Lauren Elkin.

Product Details :

Author by Andrew Gallix
Genre eBook Travel
Read Book 861
ISBN Number 9781912248391

Paris Is Always A Good Idea


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

One of Popsugar’s Best New Books for Summer 2020 A thirty-year-old woman retraces her gap year through Ireland, France, and Italy to find love—and herself—in this hilarious and heartfelt novel. It's been seven years since Chelsea Martin embarked on her yearlong postcollege European adventure. Since then, she's lost her mother to cancer and watched her sister marry twice, while Chelsea's thrown herself into work, becoming one of the most talented fundraisers for the American Cancer Coalition, and with the exception of one annoyingly competent coworker, Jason Knightley, her status as most successful moneymaker is unquestioned. When her introverted mathematician father announces he's getting remarried, Chelsea is forced to acknowledge that her life stopped after her mother died and that the last time she can remember being happy, in love, or enjoying her life was on her year abroad. Inspired to retrace her steps—to find Colin in Ireland, Jean Claude in France, and Marcelino in Italy—Chelsea hopes that one of these three men who stole her heart so many years ago can help her find it again. From the start of her journey nothing goes as planned, but as Chelsea reconnects with her old self, she also finds love in the very last place she expected.

Product Details :

Author by Jenn McKinlay
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 352
ISBN Number 9780593101360