The Color Of Water


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

As a boy in Brooklyn's Red Hook projects, James McBride knew his mother was different. But when he asked about it, she'd simply say 'I'm light-skinned.' Later he wondered if he was different too, and asked his mother if he was black or white. 'You're a human being,' she snapped. 'Educate yourself or you'll be a nobody!' And when James asked what colour God was, she said 'God is the colour of water.' As an adult, McBride finally persuaded his mother to tell her story - the story of a rabbi's daughter, born in Poland and raised in the South, who fled to Harlem, married a black man, founded a Baptist church, and put twelve children through college.

Product Details :

Author by James McBride
Genre eBook Biography & Autobiography
Read Book 256
ISBN Number 9781408832493

The Color Of Water


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A young African American man describes growing up as one of twelve children of a white mother and Black father, and discusses his mother's contributions to his life and his confusion over his own identity

Product Details :

Author by James McBride
Genre eBook Family & Relationships
Read Book 336
ISBN Number UVA:X004189691

The Color Of Water


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

When Ehwa goes to the town festival, she meets a handsome young wrestler named Duksam who's eager to catch her eye. After he wins the festival wrestling championship, he and Ehwa begin to meet, sneaking spare moments to be together. But a shadow falls on their romance when Master Cho sends Duksam away and asks for Ehwa's hand in marriage himself It is then that Ehwa discovers the pain of heartbreak – and that love is always complicated. In the tradition of My Antonia and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, from the pen of the renowned Korean manwha creator Kim Dong Hwa, comes a trilogy about a girl coming of age, set in the vibrant, beautiful landscape of pastoral Korea.

Product Details :

Author by Dong Hwa Kim
Genre eBook Comics & Graphic Novels
Read Book 320
ISBN Number 1596434597

Testing Maple Sirup For Creaming


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Author by Charles Oliver Willits
Genre eBook Maple syrup
Read Book 8
ISBN Number IND:30000091716120

Techniques Of Water Resources Investigations Of The United States Geological Survey


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Author by Geological Survey (U.S.)
Genre eBook Hydrology
Read Book
ISBN Number UCSD:31822008815003

Song Yet Sung


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Good Lord Bird, winner of the 2013 National Book Award for Fiction, Five-Carat Soul, and Kill 'Em and Leave, a James Brown biography. In the days before the Civil War, a runaway slave named Liz Spocott breaks free from her captors and escapes into the labyrinthine swamps of Maryland’s eastern shore, setting loose a drama of violence and hope among slave catchers, plantation owners, watermen, runaway slaves, and free blacks. Liz is near death, wracked by disturbing visions of the future, and armed with “the Code,” a fiercely guarded cryptic means of communication for slaves on the run. Liz’s flight and her dreams of tomorrow will thrust all those near her toward a mysterious, redemptive fate. Filled with rich, true details—much of the story is drawn from historical events—and told in McBride’s signature lyrical style, Song Yet Sung is a story of tragic triumph, violent decisions, and unexpected kindness.

Product Details :

Author by James McBride
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 384
ISBN Number 9781101217665

Explore The World Through Experiments


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Author by
Genre eBook
Read Book
ISBN Number 971230471X

The Color Of Water In July


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

It's been a long seventeen years since Jess last saw her grandmother or visited the family cottage set on an idyllic lake in Northern Michigan. For all that time, she's been haunted by loss--of her innocence and her ability to trust and, most of all, of a profound summer romance that might have been something more. So when her grandmother leaves the house to her, Jess summons her courage and returns to a place full of memories--and secrets. There, she stumbles upon old letters and photographs of a time not so much forgotten as buried. As she begins to unravel the hidden histories of her mother and her grandmother, she makes a startling discovery about a tragic death that prompted her family's slow undoing. With every uneven and painful step into the past, Jess comes closer to a truth that could alter her own path--and open a door to a different future.

Product Details :

Author by Nora Carroll
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book
ISBN Number 1503945634

The Color Of Lies


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A gripping young adult suspense novel drenched in color, mystery, and lies; set in the sense-blending world of Synesthesia. New York Times and USA Today bestselling author CJ Lyons grabs you and won’t let go, keeping you guessing until the very last page of The Color of Lies. When you can see emotions in color, motives become black and white. Even murder. High school senior Ella Cleary has always been able to read people. And for good reason: she has a rare medical condition called synesthesia that scrambles the senses, allowing Ella to see colors that reveal people’s true emotions. Everyone but Alec’s. Alec is a mystery to Ella, a handsome, enigmatic young journalist who makes her feel normal for the first time in her life … until he reveals the real reason he sought her out. He wants to learn the truth behind her parents’ deaths. And Ella’s world turns upside down when Alec tells her their deaths were not an accident. After learning her entire life is based on a lie, Ella doesn’t know who she can trust or even who she truly is. With family secrets slowly revealed and the evidence mixing fact and fiction, the only way for Ella to learn the truth about her past is to find a killer. The Color of Lies: Clean YA suspense with themes of mystery, romance, and friendship—a must-read for readers ages 13 and up By New York Times and USA Today bestselling thriller writer CJ Lyons, whose adult suspense novels have sold over 2 million copies in print and digital Features the little-known and fascinating condition synesthesia, in which people may see sounds, taste words, or feel sensations on their skin when they smell certain scents Perfect for fans of Caroline B. Cooney, Ally Carter, and Jennifer Brown

Product Details :

Author by CJ Lyons
Genre eBook Young Adult Fiction
Read Book 336
ISBN Number 9780310765370

The Astonishing Color Of After


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng. Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird. Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life. Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a stunning and heartbreaking novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love. "Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book."--John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down

Product Details :

Author by Emily X.R. Pan
Genre eBook Young Adult Fiction
Read Book 480
ISBN Number 9780316464000