The Last Ship


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

TV tie-in edition “An extraordinary novel of men at war” (The Washington Post) and the bestselling book that inspired the TNT mini-series The unimaginable has happened. The world has been plunged into all-out nuclear war. Sailing near the Arctic Circle, the U.S.S. Nathan James is relatively unscathed, but the future is grim and Captain Thomas is facing mutiny from the tattered remnants of his crew. With civilization in ruins, he urges those that remain—one-hundred-and-fifty-two men and twenty-six women—to pull together in search of land. Once they reach safety, however, the men and women on board realize that they are earth’s last remaining survivors—and they’ve all been exposed to radiation. When none of the women seems able to conceive, fear sets in. Will this be the end of humankind? For readers of Going Home by A. American, Lights Out by David Crawford, The End and The Long Road by G. Michael Hopf, and One Second After by William Forstchen.

Product Details :

Author by William Brinkley
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 624
ISBN Number 9780698156678

Last Boat Out Of Shanghai


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The dramatic real life stories of four young people caught up in the mass exodus of Shanghai in the wake of China's 1949 Communist revolution--a heartrending precursor to the struggles faced by emigrants today. "A true page-turner . . . [Helen] Zia has proven once again that history is something that happens to real people."--New York Times bestselling author Lisa See NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR AND THE CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR - LONGLISTED FOR THE PEN/JACQUELINE BOGRAD WELD AWARD FOR BIOGRAPHY Shanghai has historically been China's jewel, its richest, most modern and westernized city. The bustling metropolis was home to sophisticated intellectuals, entrepreneurs, and a thriving middle class when Mao's proletarian revolution emerged victorious from the long civil war. Terrified of the horrors the Communists would wreak upon their lives, citizens of Shanghai who could afford to fled in every direction. Seventy years later, members of the last generation to fully recall this massive exodus have revealed their stories to Chinese American journalist Helen Zia, who interviewed hundreds of exiles about their journey through one of the most tumultuous events of the twentieth century. From these moving accounts, Zia weaves together the stories of four young Shanghai residents who wrestled with the decision to abandon everything for an uncertain life as refugees in Hong Kong, Taiwan, and the United States. Benny, who as a teenager became the unwilling heir to his father's dark wartime legacy, must decide either to escape to Hong Kong or navigate the intricacies of a newly Communist China. The resolute Annuo, forced to flee her home with her father, a defeated Nationalist official, becomes an unwelcome exile in Taiwan. The financially strapped Ho fights deportation from the U.S. in order to continue his studies while his family struggles at home. And Bing, given away by her poor parents, faces the prospect of a new life among strangers in America. The lives of these men and women are marvelously portrayed, revealing the dignity and triumph of personal survival. Herself the daughter of immigrants from China, Zia is uniquely equipped to explain how crises like the Shanghai transition affect children and their families, students and their futures, and, ultimately, the way we see ourselves and those around us. Last Boat Out of Shanghai brings a poignant personal angle to the experiences of refugees then and, by extension, today. "Zia's portraits are compassionate and heartbreaking, and they are, ultimately, the universal story of many families who leave their homeland as refugees and find less-than-welcoming circumstances on the other side."--Amy Tan, author of The Joy Luck Club

Product Details :

Author by Helen Zia
Genre eBook History
Read Book 544
ISBN Number 9780345522337

Last Boat Out Of Shanghai


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The dramatic real life stories of four young people caught up in the mass exodus of Shanghai in the wake of China's 1949 Communist revolution--a heartrending precursor to the struggles faced by emigrants today. "A true page-turner . . . [Helen] Zia has proven once again that history is something that happens to real people."--New York Times bestselling author Lisa See NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR AND THE CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR - LONGLISTED FOR THE PEN/JACQUELINE BOGRAD WELD AWARD FOR BIOGRAPHY Shanghai has historically been China's jewel, its richest, most modern and westernized city. The bustling metropolis was home to sophisticated intellectuals, entrepreneurs, and a thriving middle class when Mao's proletarian revolution emerged victorious from the long civil war. Terrified of the horrors the Communists would wreak upon their lives, citizens of Shanghai who could afford to fled in every direction. Seventy years later, members of the last generation to fully recall this massive exodus have revealed their stories to Chinese American journalist Helen Zia, who interviewed hundreds of exiles about their journey through one of the most tumultuous events of the twentieth century. From these moving accounts, Zia weaves together the stories of four young Shanghai residents who wrestled with the decision to abandon everything for an uncertain life as refugees in Hong Kong, Taiwan, and the United States. Benny, who as a teenager became the unwilling heir to his father's dark wartime legacy, must decide either to escape to Hong Kong or navigate the intricacies of a newly Communist China. The resolute Annuo, forced to flee her home with her father, a defeated Nationalist official, becomes an unwelcome exile in Taiwan. The financially strapped Ho fights deportation from the U.S. in order to continue his studies while his family struggles at home. And Bing, given away by her poor parents, faces the prospect of a new life among strangers in America. The lives of these men and women are marvelously portrayed, revealing the dignity and triumph of personal survival. Herself the daughter of immigrants from China, Zia is uniquely equipped to explain how crises like the Shanghai transition affect children and their families, students and their futures, and, ultimately, the way we see ourselves and those around us. Last Boat Out of Shanghai brings a poignant personal angle to the experiences of refugees then and, by extension, today. "Zia's portraits are compassionate and heartbreaking, and they are, ultimately, the universal story of many families who leave their homeland as refugees and find less-than-welcoming circumstances on the other side."--Amy Tan, author of The Joy Luck Club

Product Details :

Author by Helen Zia
Genre eBook History
Read Book 544
ISBN Number 9780345522337

A Unit Of Water A Unit Of Time


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

When one of the world's great boat builders is diagnosed with cancer, he begins working on his last boat in the Brooklin Boat Yard, in a profound and moving study of the human condition. Reprint.

Product Details :

Author by Douglas Whynott
Genre eBook Crafts & Hobbies
Read Book 320
ISBN Number 9780671785260

The Last Boat


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The Last Boat is the second novel by author John Hanley, and the follow up to Against the Tide The book opens in the middle of the greatest naval disaster in British history when the Luftwaffe bombs and sinks the hastily converted Cunard liner, HMT Lancastria. In the ten minutes of bombing and strafing, over 5,000 troops and civilians are blown apart by the high explosive bombs. These losses represent more than one third of all members of the British Expeditionary Force killed in the nine months of war so far. The news is so shocking that Churchill suppresses it and the report into the loss will remain sealed until 2040. But this is only a beginning for Jack, Saul, Miko and Lt Commander Brewster who survive the attack and must fight their way back to Jersey through the German advance. During this journey they encounter a cargo so important that only Miko, the refugee physicist, really understands what could happen should the Germans intercept it. The Last Boat will appeal to readers of historical fiction who appreciate the complexities and uncertainties facing young adults as their world is forever shattered by war.

Product Details :

Author by John F Hanley
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 336
ISBN Number 9781783060474

The Last Boat


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Amelia Moorland recounts the events surrounding a tragedy that occurred in Nantucket in the early 20th century and how it effected her extraordinary life.

Product Details :

Author by Michael Hite
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 252
ISBN Number 9780595420339

Night Boat To Tangier


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

LONGLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE From the acclaimed author of the international sensations City of Bohane and Beatlebone, a striking and gorgeous new novel of two aging criminals at the butt ends of their damage-filled careers. A superbly melancholic melody of a novel full of beautiful phrases and terrible men. In the dark waiting room of the ferry terminal in the sketchy Spanish port of Algeciras, two fading Irish gangsters, Maurice Hearne and Charlie Redmond--longtime partners in the lucrative and dangerous enterprise of smuggling drugs--are waiting on the boat from Tangier, and none too patiently. It is October 23, 2018, and they are expecting Maurice's estranged daughter (or is she?), Dilly, to either arrive on a boat coming from Tangier or depart on one heading there. This nocturnal vigil will initiate an extraordinary journey back in time to excavate their shared history of violence, romance, mutual betrayals and serial exiles. Mordant and hilarious, lyrical yet laden with menace, Night Boat to Tangier is a tragicomic masterpiece rendered with the dark humour and the hardboiled Hibernian lyricism that have made multi award-winning writer Kevin Barry one of the most striking and admired fiction writers at work today.

Product Details :

Author by Kevin Barry
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 288
ISBN Number 9780345810687

Rav Overcoming 1 The Last Boat


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Author by Ilie Ruby
Genre eBook High interest-low vocabulary books
Read Book 43
ISBN Number 0076015882

Last Boat From Tangier


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Product Details :

Author by JAMES VON. LEYDEN
Genre eBook
Read Book 320
ISBN Number 1472130669

The Last Ship


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

TV tie-in edition “An extraordinary novel of men at war” (The Washington Post) and the bestselling book that inspired the TNT mini-series The unimaginable has happened. The world has been plunged into all-out nuclear war. Sailing near the Arctic Circle, the U.S.S. Nathan James is relatively unscathed, but the future is grim and Captain Thomas is facing mutiny from the tattered remnants of his crew. With civilization in ruins, he urges those that remain—one-hundred-and-fifty-two men and twenty-six women—to pull together in search of land. Once they reach safety, however, the men and women on board realize that they are earth’s last remaining survivors—and they’ve all been exposed to radiation. When none of the women seems able to conceive, fear sets in. Will this be the end of humankind? For readers of Going Home by A. American, Lights Out by David Crawford, The End and The Long Road by G. Michael Hopf, and One Second After by William Forstchen.

Product Details :

Author by William Brinkley
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 624
ISBN Number 9780698156678