the life and love of the sea

The Life And Love Of The Sea by Lewis Blackwell

Publisher :
Genre :
Release : 2015-09-08
Format : All Formats
Download : 216
ISBN-13 : 073363091X
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Showcasing cutting-edge underwater photography from the world s leading marine and nature photographers, "The Life & Love of the Sea" is a breathtaking visual tour of the ocean s great diversity. Readers will experience land meeting sea with images of dramatic coastlines, barrier reefs, and island chains, as well as the spectacular power of the ocean through a stunning collection of wave photographs. Offering an extensive survey of the ocean s many fascinating inhabitants, Blackwell presents incredible images of everything from whales to manta rays to seals to endless schools of fish to the creatures that reside in the deepest recesses of the ocean floor. The book also makes available bonus footage via a scannable QR code from multi-award- winning underwater cameraman Steven Hathaway."

The Life And Love Of The Sea by Lewis Blackwell

Publisher : Harry N. Abrams
Genre : Nature
Release : 2015-10-06
Format : All Formats
Download : 216
ISBN-13 : 1419718622
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Showcasing cutting-edge underwater photography from the world's leading marine and nature photographers, The Life & Love of the Sea is a breathtaking visual tour of the ocean's great diversity. Readers will experience land meeting sea with images of dramatic coastlines, barrier reefs, and island chains, as well as the spectacular power of the ocean through a stunning collection of wave photographs. Offering an extensive survey of the ocean's many fascinating inhabitants, Blackwell presents incredible images of everything from whales to manta rays to seals to endless schools of fish to the creatures that reside in the deepest recesses of the ocean floor. The book also makes available bonus footage via a scannable QR code from multi-award- winning underwater cameraman Steven Hathaway.

The Ocean Of Life by Callum Roberts

Publisher : Penguin
Genre : Science
Release : 2012-05-24
Format : All Formats
Download : 432
ISBN-13 : 9781101583562
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A Silent Spring for oceans, written by "the Rachel Carson of the fish world" (The New York Times) Who can forget the sense of wonder with which they discovered the creatures of the deep? In this vibrant hymn to the sea, Callum Roberts—one of the world’s foremost conservation biologists—leads readers on a fascinating tour of mankind’s relationship to the sea, from the earliest traces of water on earth to the oceans as we know them today. In the process, Roberts looks at how the taming of the oceans has shaped human civilization and affected marine life. We have always been fish eaters, from the dawn of civilization, but in the last twenty years we have transformed the oceans beyond recognition. Putting our exploitation of the seas into historical context, Roberts offers a devastating account of the impact of modern fishing techniques, pollution, and climate change, and reveals what it would take to steer the right course while there is still time. Like Four Fish and The Omnivore’s Dilemma, The Ocean of Life takes a long view to tell a story in which each one of us has a role to play.

Love By The Sea by Oscar Woodbury

Publisher : Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Genre :
Release : 2017-12-25
Format : All Formats
Download : 116
ISBN-13 : 1982030259
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

"Love By The Sea" is an ode to love at first sight, to loving without reservation, and healing the scars of the past. It takes the reader on a journey from the lighthouse, where I first fell in love with the love of my life, to the seas we've sailed and the adventures we've had together.

The Sea The Sea by Iris Murdoch

Publisher : Random House
Genre : Fiction
Release : 2008-12-29
Format : All Formats
Download : 576
ISBN-13 : 9781409043584
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

VINTAGE CLASSICS MURDOCH: Funny, subversive, fearless and fiercely intelligent, Iris Murdoch was one of the great writers of the twentieth century. To celebrate her centenary Vintage Classics presents special editions of her greatest and most timeless novels. WITH AN INTRODUCTION BY DAISY JOHNSON ‘I saw a monster rising from the waves.' Charles Arrowby has determined to spend the rest of his days in hermit-like contemplation. He buys a mysteriously damp house on the coast, far from the heady world of the theatre where he made his name, and there he swims in the sea, eats revolting meals and writes his memoirs. But then he meets his childhood sweetheart Hartley, and memories of her lovely, younger self crowd in – along with more recent lovers and friends – to disrupt his self-imposed exile. So instead of 'learning to be good', Charles proceeds to demonstrate how very bad he can be. Winner of the Man Booker Prize 1978.

At Any Cost by Peter Tangvald

Publisher :
Genre : Sailors
Release : 1991
Format : All Formats
Download : 327
ISBN-13 : 094442807X
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

This sailing thriller chronicles the life of a zealous Norwegian cruising yachtsman & author aboard his 50 foot wooden sailboat, L'ARTEMIS DE PYTHEAS. After building his yacht himself in French Guiana, Peter Tangvald & his young wife set off on an adventure that brings them both great joy & incredible tragedy. Tangvald experiences the joy of the birth of his children at sea, & despair after losing two wives at sea, one murdered by ruthless pirates & one swept overboard in a dreadful accident. This extraordinary man traveled to obscure corners of the world, testing the boundaries of his strength & endurance. He left us this legacy before the sea claimed his life & that of his young daughter in 1991 off the coast of Bonaire. His son, Thomas, is the lone survivor of this ill fated family. AT ANY COST - LOVE, LIFE & DEATH AT SEA can be purchased directly from the publisher: Cruising Guide Publications, P.O. Box 1017, Dunedin, FL 34697-1017. Wholesale prices are available on request.

Girl By Sea by Penelope Green

Publisher : Hachette UK
Genre : Travel
Release : 2011-01-01
Format : All Formats
Download : 332
ISBN-13 : 9780733626012
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The conclusion to Penelope Green's bestselling trilogy about her life in Italy that includes When in Rome and See Naples and Die From her rooftop terrace, Penelope looks out across the sparkling waters of the Bay of Naples, and into a garden of lemon trees and magnolias. Has her Italian dream come true? Imagine catching a ferry home and stepping onto a waterfront lined with multicoloured buildings, busy with fishing boats and couples strolling to their favourite café. For Penny and her Italian love Alfonso, the idyllic island of Procida can offer the life they are looking for. But first Penny has to find a way into its small community. One thing she has in common with the locals is a love of food, so she sets herself a goal - to master the Procidan cuisine and become more than just a visitor. Across kitchen tables, in bustling cafés, and over long lunches under vine-covered pergolas, Penny learns the art of Italian cooking, builds friendships, and discovers the rhythms and secrets of island life. 'It’s a lovely chronicle of the joys and pitfalls of moving to a small community... A charming concoction of love, food and life – with recipes!' - The Australian Women’s Weekly 'With her observant eye for detail, young Sydney-born journalist Penelope Green's account of her time living on the beautiful Italian island of Procida with her partner, Alfonso, is an endearing insight into a small community where life, love and food reign supreme' - Sunday Telegraph 'interspersed with mouthwatering recipes and Procida is explored from a historical, cultural, architectural, social and heart-on-the-sleeve personal perspective. Delivered with a light and breezy tone, it's easy to consume' - Courier Mail Author Biography Penelope Green was born in Sydney and worked as a print journalist around Australia for a decade before moving to Rome in 2002. Her first book, When in Rome, recounts her early experiences in the Eternal City. In 2005 she moved to Naples to work for ANSAmed, a Mediterranean news service. She found an apartment in the city's colourful Spanish Quarter, worked hard at mastering the Neapolitan dialect, and writing her second travel memoir, See Naples and Die. Girl by Sea completes Penny's Italian experience as she moves to the idyllic island of Procida, across the bay from Capri, with her Italian partner, Alfonso. The couple have now returned to Australia, where they are making a new life for themselves back in the Southern hemisphere. For more information visit penelopegreen.com.au

Sea Of Lost Love by Santa Montefiore

Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Genre : Fiction
Release : 2014-01-02
Format : All Formats
Download : 416
ISBN-13 : 9781471132049
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

An idyllic Cornish holiday in the summer of 1958. A happy aristocratic family blessed with wealth and promise. But unbeknown to all of them, death stalks paradise. When catastrophe strikes in the most unexpected way, the tragedy first breaks Celestria Montague's young heart - then shatters her every illusion. With the backing of her grandfather, a flamboyant American robber baron, Celestria sets out to unravel the deadly yet bizarre riddle. Amongst the orange groves of Italy's ruggedly beautiful southern coast, she finds a grotesque, bewildering mist of masquerades and mirrors. In this labyrinth of deception that threatens to destroy all her faith in family and affection, she meets a man who teaches her that truth is the heart of all love.

Publisher : Wilder Ground Books
Genre :
Release : 2018-10-29
Format : All Formats
Download : 257
ISBN-13 : 0578401886
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

WINNER OF WATTPAD'S 2016 WATTY'S AWARD For fans of Stephen Chbosky's The Perks of Being A Wallflower and John Green's The Fault in Our Stars, Love and the Sea and Everything in Between shines a light on some of the darkest places of human struggle. Heart-rending and raw, it reminds us that love has the power to bring healing to even the most broken places. College Freshman Adam West's world has been falling apart for a long time. Broken, betrayed, abandoned, alone... there's nothing left for him but a handful of mental illnesses. He's tired and ready to end it all. Then, Elizabeth Richards comes along. All it took was the kindness of a stranger to make Adam's world a just little bit brighter. For the first time in a long time, as they travel the West Coast together, he's starting to see that there are still some adventures worth living for. But pain isn't easily forgotten. And the past doesn't just disappear. Sometimes the only way to come alive is to fight and wrestle through all the darkest places.

The Life And Love Of Trees by Lewis Blackwell

Publisher :
Genre : Forests and forestry
Release : 2010
Format : All Formats
Download : 200
ISBN-13 : 0733624669
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Trees are vital without them we simply wouldn't be here. Not only essential, they have been an inspiration throughout our history. In breathtaking photographs and stories we are taken on a journey from the boreal forest at the edge of the Arctic to the rainforests girdling the planet; from ancient bristlecones to fresh-leaved seedlings; from the charming and familiar to the scary and rare. An elegantly written and highly accessible text is complemented by an extraordinary collection of images created by some of the world's leading nature photographers.