Those Who Knew


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Named a BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR by * NPR * Esquire * O, The Oprah Magazine * Real Simple * BBC * PopSugar * Bustle * Kirkus Reviews * Lit Hub “A gripping, astute, and deeply humane political thriller.” —The Boston Globe “Mesmerizing [and] uncannily prescient.”—Los Angeles Times A taut, timely novel about what a powerful politician thinks he can get away with and the group of misfits who finally bring him down, from the award-winning author of Ways to Disappear. On an unnamed island country ten years after the collapse of a U.S.-supported regime, Lena suspects the powerful senator she was involved with back in her student activist days is taking advantage of a young woman who's been introducing him at rallies. When the young woman ends up dead, Lena revisits her own fraught history with the senator and the violent incident that ended their relationship. Why didn't Lena speak up then, and will her family's support of the former regime still impact her credibility? What if her hunch about this young woman's death is wrong? What follows is a riveting exploration of the cost of staying silent and the mixed rewards of speaking up in a profoundly divided country. Those Who Knew confirms Novey's place as an essential new voice in American fiction.

Product Details :

Author by Idra Novey
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 272
ISBN Number 9780525560449

Ways To Disappear


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Best of 2016 -- NPR, BUST Magazine Buzzfeed's Best Debuts of 2016 Winner of the 2016 Brooklyn Eagles Literary Prize for Fiction New York Times Editors' Choice 2016 Barnes & Noble Discover selection "An elegant page-turner....Charges forward with the momentum of a bullet." --New York Times Book Review For fans of Robin Sloan's Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette, an inventive, brilliant debut novel about the disappearance of a famous Brazilian novelist and the young translator who turns her life upside down to follow her author's trail. Beatriz Yagoda was once one of Brazil's most celebrated authors. At the age of sixty, she is mostly forgotten-until one summer afternoon when she enters a park in Rio de Janeiro, climbs into an almond tree, and disappears. When her devoted translator Emma hears the news in wintry Pittsburgh, she flies to the sticky heat of Rio. There she joins the author's son and daughter to solve the mystery of Yagoda's disappearance and satisfy the demands of the colorful characters left in her wake, including a loan shark with a debt to collect and the washed-up editor who launched Yagoda's career. What they discover is how much of her they never knew. Exquisitely imagined and as profound as it is suspenseful, Ways to Disappear is at once a thrilling story of intrigue and a radiant novel of self-reckoning.

Product Details :

Author by Idra Novey
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 224
ISBN Number 9780316298506

Eva Cassidy


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Discusses the late singer's intimate relationships with friends, family, and fellow performers; reveals her legacy as BBC's most-requested artist; and recounts her tragic death at the age of thirty-three to cancer, in a tribute complemented by full-color photos and reproductions of her original artwork. 50,000 first printing.

Product Details :

Author by Rob Burley
Genre eBook Biography & Autobiography
Read Book 176
ISBN Number 1592400353

Memories Of Margaret Thatcher


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Margaret Thatcher is a British icon. There is no denying her place in history as Britain's greatest peacetime Prime Minister. The reaction to her death confirms that twenty-three years after leaving office she still bestrides the political scene, both in Britain and around the world, like a colossus. Margaret Thatcher was elected to Parliament in 1959. Twenty years later she became Britain's first woman Prime Minister. She achieved two further landslide election victories, making her the longest-serving British Prime Minister since Lord Liverpool. She resigned in November 1990 after eleven-and-a-half years at the pinnacle of British politics. Memories of Margaret Thatcher brings together over 200 personal reminiscences and anecdotes from those who - whether political friends or opponents, observing her from the press gallery or toiling to keep her flame alight in the constituencies - experienced close encounters with the Iron Lady. They include, among others, Ronald Reagan, Helmut Kohl, Norman Tebbit, Cecil Parkinson, Matthew Parris, Michael Howard, Paddy Ashdown, Adam Boulton, Lord Ashcroft, Sebastian Coe, Boris Johnson, Ann Widdecombe, William Hague, Sir Bernard Ingham, Barbara Taylor Bradford, Esther Rantzen, Dame Ann Leslie, David Davis, Liam Fox and many more. Amusing, revealing, sympathetic and occasionally antagonistic, these observations combine to give a unique portrait of the political and personal life of a remarkable woman. They show the deeply private and compassionate nature of a woman who will forever be known as the Iron Lady.

Product Details :

Author by Iain Dale
Genre eBook Political Science
Read Book 592
ISBN Number 9781849546126

This Is How I Knew


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Everything you need to hear, but already know.

Product Details :

Author by Kiana Azizian
Genre eBook American poetry
Read Book 132
ISBN Number 198575410X

The Parking Lot Attendant


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Named a New York Times Notable Book of the Year Shortlisted for the Center For Fiction First Novel Prize Named a Booklist Best Book of the Year A mesmerizing, indelible coming-of-age story about a girl in Boston's tightly-knit Ethiopian community who falls under the spell of a charismatic hustler out to change the world A haunting story of fatherhood, national identity, and what it means to be an immigrant in America today, Nafkote Tamirat's The Parking Lot Attendant explores how who we love, the choices we make, and the places we’re from combine to make us who we are. The story begins on an undisclosed island where the unnamed narrator and her father are the two newest and least liked members of a commune that has taken up residence there. Though the commune was built on utopian principles, it quickly becomes clear that life here is not as harmonious as the founders intended. After immersing us in life on the island, our young heroine takes us back to Boston to recount the events that brought her here. Though she and her father belong to a wide Ethiopian network in the city, they mostly keep to themselves, which is how her father prefers it. This detached existence only makes Ayale’s arrival on the scene more intoxicating. The unofficial king of Boston’s Ethiopian community, Ayale is a born hustler—when he turns his attention to the narrator, she feels seen for the first time. Ostensibly a parking lot attendant, Ayale soon proves to have other projects in the works, which the narrator becomes more and more entangled in to her father’s growing dismay. By the time the scope of Ayale’s schemes—and their repercussions—become apparent, our narrator has unwittingly become complicit in something much bigger and darker than she ever imagined.

Product Details :

Author by Nafkote Tamirat
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 240
ISBN Number 9781250128515

To Those Who Knew Me Well


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Chad systematically swallowed pills, three at a time, until the bottle was empty. In a while, he phoned Trent, and Trent phoned Ralph. They rushed over to Chad's but the ambulance had already taken him to the Royal Mary Hospital. The doctor wouldn't allow visitors. This may have been his first suicide attempt.

Product Details :

Author by Lorri Star
Genre eBook Biography & Autobiography
Read Book 104
ISBN Number 0741443023

Dorothy Day


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A unique and intimate biographical celebration of a radical saint for our times.

Product Details :

Author by Rosalie G. Riegle
Genre eBook Biography & Autobiography
Read Book 212
ISBN Number UOM:39015061753359

Walking With Jesus


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Provides eighteen fictionalized reflections by people who encountered Jesus during their lifetimes, painting vignettes of scriptural characters ranging from the well-known and familiar personalities as Mary the Mother of God, Mary Magalene, and John the Disciple, to unknown or unnamed characters such as the Adulterous Woman, Jairus' Daughter, the Sister of the Good Thief, and Judas' Mother. Original.

Product Details :

Author by Daniel Sullivan
Genre eBook Religion
Read Book 130
ISBN Number 0809141310

People Who Knew Me


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Everything was fine fourteen years after she left New York. Until suddenly, one day, it wasn’t. Emily Morris got her happily-ever-after earlier than most. Married at a young age to a man she loved passionately, she was building the life she always wanted. But when enormous stress threatened her marriage, Emily made some rash decisions. That’s when she fell in love with someone else. That’s when she got pregnant. Resolved to tell her husband of the affair and to leave him for the father of her child, Emily’s plans are thwarted when the world is suddenly split open on 9/11. It’s amid terrible tragedy that she finds her freedom, as she leaves New York City to start a new life. It’s not easy, but Emily---now Connie Prynne—forges a new happily-ever-after in California. But when a life-threatening diagnosis upends her life, she is forced to rethink her life for the good of her thirteen-year-old daughter. A riveting debut in which a woman must confront her own past in order to secure the future of her daughter, Kim Hooper's People Who Knew Me asks: “What would you do?”

Product Details :

Author by Kim Hooper
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 304
ISBN Number 9781466890305