treyf

Treyf by Elissa Altman

Publisher : Penguin
Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Release : 2016-09-20
Format : All Formats
Download : 304
ISBN-13 : 9780698182127
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

From the Washington Post columnist and James Beard Award-winning author of Poor Man’s Feast comes a story of seeking truth, acceptance, and self in a world of contradiction... Treyf: According to Leviticus, unkosher and prohibited, like lobster, shrimp, pork, fish without scales, the mixing of meat and dairy. Also, imperfect, intolerable, offensive, undesirable, unclean, improper, broken, forbidden, illicit. Fans of Augusten Burroughs and Jo Ann Beard will enjoy this kaleidoscopic, universal memoir in which Elissa Altman explores the tradition, religion, family expectations, and the forbidden that were the fixed points in her Queens, New York, childhood. Every part of Altman’s youth was laced with contradiction and hope, betrayal and the yearning for acceptance: synagogue on Saturday and Chinese pork ribs on Sunday; bat mitzvahs followed by shrimp-in-lobster-sauce luncheons; her old-country grandparents, whose kindness and love were tied to unspoken rage, and her bell-bottomed neighbors, whose adoring affection hid dark secrets. While the suburban promise of The Brady Bunch blared on television, Altman searched for peace and meaning in a world teeming with faith, violence, sex, and paradox. Spanning from 1940s wartime Brooklyn to 1970s Queens to present-day rural New England, Treyf captures the collision of youthful cravings and grown-up identities. It is a vivid tale of what it means to come to yourself both in spite and in honor to your past. From the Hardcover edition.

Jew by Cynthia M. Baker

Publisher : Rutgers University Press
Genre : Social Science
Release : 2017-01-13
Format : All Formats
Download : 208
ISBN-13 : 9780813573861
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Jew. The word possesses an uncanny power to provoke and unsettle. For millennia, Jew has signified the consummate Other, a persistent fly in the ointment of Western civilization’s grand narratives and cultural projects. Only very recently, however, has Jew been reclaimed as a term of self-identification and pride. With these insights as a point of departure, this book offers a wide-ranging exploration of the key word Jew—a term that lies not only at the heart of Jewish experience, but indeed at the core of Western civilization. Examining scholarly debates about the origins and early meanings of Jew, Cynthia M. Baker interrogates categories like “ethnicity,” “race,” and “religion” that inevitably feature in attempts to define the word. Tracing the term’s evolution, she also illuminates its many contradictions, revealing how Jew has served as a marker of materialism and intellectualism, socialism and capitalism, worldly cosmopolitanism and clannish parochialism, chosen status, and accursed stigma. Baker proceeds to explore the complex challenges that attend the modern appropriation of Jew as a term of self-identification, with forays into Yiddish language and culture, as well as meditations on Jew-as-identity by contemporary public intellectuals. Finally, by tracing the phrase new Jews through a range of contexts—including the early Zionist movement, current debates about Muslim immigration to Europe, and recent sociological studies in the United States—the book provides a glimpse of what the word Jew is coming to mean in an era of Internet cultures, genetic sequencing, precarious nationalisms, and proliferating identities.

Presidential Campaign Activities Of 1972 Senate Resolution 60 by United States. Congress. Senate. Select Committee on Presidential Campaign Activities

Publisher :
Genre : Presidents
Release : 1973
Format : All Formats
Download :
ISBN-13 : MINN:31951D008324900
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

The Kellogg Arabians by Herbert Harshman Reese

Publisher : Borden Pub Co
Genre : Nature
Release : 1958-06-01
Format : All Formats
Download : 222
ISBN-13 : WISC:89031313208
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

First Person Jewish by Alisa Lebow

Publisher : U of Minnesota Press
Genre : Social Science
Release : 2008
Format : All Formats
Download : 203
ISBN-13 : 9780816643547
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Examining more than a dozen films from Jewish artists, this book reveals how the postmodern impulse to turn the lens inward intersects provocatively with historical tropes and stereotypes of the Jew. It focuses on Jewish filmmakers working on the margins and examines the work of Jonathan Caouette, Chantal Akerman and many more.

Publisher :
Genre :
Release : 1979
Format : All Formats
Download :
ISBN-13 : UCAL:B3811512
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Born To Kvetch by Michael Wex

Publisher : St. Martin's Press
Genre : Social Science
Release : 2007-04-01
Format : All Formats
Download : 320
ISBN-13 : 1429909900
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

As the main spoken language of the Jews for more than a thousand years, Yiddish has had plenty to lament, plenty to conceal. Its phrases, idioms, and expressions paint a comprehensive picture of the mind-set that enabled the Jews of Europe to survive a millennium of unrelenting persecution: they never stopped kvetching---about God, gentiles, children, food, and everything (and anything) else. They even learned how to smile through their kvetching and express satisfaction in the form of complaint. In Born to Kvetch, Michael Wex looks at the ingredients that went into this buffet of disenchantment and examines how they were mixed together to produce an almost limitless supply of striking idioms and withering curses (which get a chapter all to themselves). Born to Kvetch includes a wealth of material that's never appeared in English before. You'll find information on the Yiddish relationship to food, nature, divinity, and humanity. There's even a chapter about sex. This is no bobe mayse (cock-and-bull story) from a khokhem be-layle (idiot, literally a "sage at night" when no one's looking), but a serious yet fun and funny look at a language that both shaped and was shaped by those who spoke it. From tukhes to goy, meshugener to kvetch, Yiddish words have permeated and transformed English as well. Through the idioms, phrases, metaphors, and fascinating history of this kvetch-full tongue, Michael Wex gives us a moving and inspiring portrait of a people, and a language, in exile.

Encyclopedia by Richard Horn

Publisher :
Genre : Bohemianism
Release : 1969
Format : All Formats
Download : 157
ISBN-13 : UCAL:B4446900
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Down To Earth Judaism by Arthur I. Waskow

Publisher : William Morrow
Genre : Food
Release : 1995
Format : All Formats
Download : 402
ISBN-13 : UOM:39015027275968
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Publisher :
Genre : Humanistic Judaism
Release : 2006
Format : All Formats
Download : 346
ISBN-13 : STANFORD:36105114452530
Price : FREE


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet