Worth Dying For


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “Jack Reacher is the coolest continuing series character now on offer.”—Stephen King, in Entertainment Weekly #1 New York Times bestselling author Lee Child follows the electrifying 61 Hours with his latest Reacher thriller—a story that hits the ground running and then accelerates all the way to a colossal showdown. There’s deadly trouble in the corn country of Nebraska . . . and Jack Reacher walks right into it. First he falls foul of the Duncans, a local clan that has terrified an entire county into submission. But it’s the unsolved case of a missing child, already decades-old, that Reacher can’t let go. The Duncans want Reacher gone—and it’s not just past secrets they’re trying to hide. They’re awaiting a secret shipment that’s already late—and they have the kind of customers no one can afford to annoy. For as dangerous as the Duncans are, they’re just the bottom of a criminal food chain stretching halfway around the world. For Reacher, it would have made much more sense to keep on going, to put some distance between himself and the hard-core trouble that’s bearing down on him. For Reacher, that was also impossible. Worth Dying For is the kind of explosive thriller only Lee Child could write and only Jack Reacher could survive—a heart-racing page-turner no suspense fan will want to miss.

Product Details :

Author by Lee Child
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 400
ISBN Number 9780440339342

Worth Dying For


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Featuring Jack Reacher, hero of the blockbuster movie starring Tom Cruise, in an explosive follow-up to the cliffhanger ending of 61 Hours. Has Jack Reacher finally met his match? 61 Hours ended with Reacher trapped in a desperate situation from which escape seemed impossible. Even for him. Was that really the end of the road for the maverick loner? Worth Dying For is the kind of explosive thriller only Lee Child could write - a heart-racing page-turner no suspense fan will want to miss.

Product Details :

Author by Lee Child
Genre eBook Ex-police officers
Read Book 510
ISBN Number 9780553825497

A Flag Worth Dying For


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

First published in Great Britain in 2016 by Elliott and Thompson Limited as: Worth dying for: the power and politics of flags.

Product Details :

Author by Tim Marshall
Genre eBook History
Read Book 304
ISBN Number 9781501168338

Worth Dying For


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

In a fast-paced and action-packed narrative, Navy SEAL commander Rorke Denver tackles the questions that have emerged about America’s past decade at war—from what makes a hero to why we fight and what it does to us. Heroes are not always the guys who jump on grenades. Sometimes, they are the snipers who decide to hold their fire, the wounded operators who find fresh ways to contribute, or the wives who keep the families together back home. Even a SEAL commander—especially a SEAL commander—knows that. But what’s a hero, really? What do we have a right to expect from our heroes? How should we hold them accountable? Amid all the loose talk of heroes, these questions are seldom asked. As a SEAL commander, Rorke Denver is uniquely qualified to answer questions about what makes a hero or a leader, why men kill, how best to serve your country, how battlefield experiences can elevate us, and most important, why we fight and what it does for and to us. And in Worth Dying For, Denver shares his personal experiences from the forefront of war today. Denver applies some of his SEAL sense to nine big-picture, news-driven questions of war and peace, in a way that appeals to all sides of the public conversation. By broadening the issues, sharing his insights, and achieving what civilian political leaders have been utterly unable to, Denver eloquently shares answers to America’s most burning questions about war, heroism, and what it all means for America’s future.

Product Details :

Author by Rorke Denver
Genre eBook History
Read Book 240
ISBN Number 9781501124136

Worth Dying For


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Security agent Dante Moran can't afford the luxury of love—in his line of work, emotions can get you killed. Besides, he's never recovered from the pain of losing his high school sweetheart to a serial rapist and killer. As far as Dante is concerned, his heart died the day her body was discovered. But when he's hired to find Tessa Westbrook's missing daughter, Dante is shocked to feel his long-buried emotions rise to the surface. Tessa stirs something in him that he hasn't felt since he was a kid…something that makes him think she could become more than a client. But Tessa's past is full of secrets, and with a killer still on the loose, Dante must decide if she's worth dying for….

Product Details :

Author by Beverly Barton
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 384
ISBN Number 9781460301821

Is It Worth Dying For


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A groundbreaking examination of stress and its effects on health and disease Cardiologist Robert S. Eliot identifies “hot reactors”—apparently healthy people who overreact to such common occurrences as losing a tennis game or missing a train. If you are a “hot reactor,” you may be responding to stress with an all-out physical effort that is taking a heavy toll on your health . . . without your even being aware of it. Based on more than twenty years of research with thousands of patients, Is it Worth Dying For? takes stress management out of pop psychology and puts it into mainstream medicine. Dr. Eliot identifies the ways in which stress affects the heart, the blood vessels, and the body and gives us new, objective ways of detecting stress before any damage is done. He offers a complete program for recognizing, reducing, and reversing the hidden effects of stress in your life—to make stress work for you, not against you. You’ll learn: • How to take your own “stress temperature” (the results may surprise you) • Whether you are a “hot” or “cold” reactor • How to relieve work-related stress • How to reduce your dependency on alcohol, drugs, and tobacco • How to keep your sense of control and self-mastery in practically any situation • Plus a complete stress-reducing nutrition plan; relaxation therapy techniques; and a twenty-minute-per day, three-day-per-week aerobic fitness program to strengthen your heart

Product Details :

Author by Robert S. Eliot
Genre eBook Health & Fitness
Read Book 288
ISBN Number 0307874427

A Life Worth Dying For


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

A Life Worth Dying For: The Jim Mandelin Story, by Jim Mandelin with Don Rock and Alison Diesvelt, is the true story of a man, who endured a childhood strewn with daily incidents of sexual, physical and emotional abuse at home, and constant bullying at school; who survived years as a youth on the streets succumbing to the predations of pedophiles and to addiction; who did multiple stints in prison and was eventually recruited by a biker gang in prison for work as a 'debt collector on the outside'; who eventually became a physical wreck because of addiction, facing cardiac arrest at twenty-two and a near-death experience that changed his life forever. A Life Worth Dying For is woven with fleeting moments of kindness by relative strangers, which ultimately fused Jim with the will to live. This is a story written to raise awareness of the effects of childhood abuse and neglect, bullying and discrimination and how these circumstances so often create conditioning for criminality and gang membership. It is a real-life testament intended to deepen your understanding of what it is to be human, and of the power of kindness to affect critical change in our world....

Product Details :

Author by Jim Mandelin with Don Rock and Diesvelt
Genre eBook Self-Help
Read Book 208
ISBN Number 9781770978256

Worth Dying For


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

With enough power coursing through your veins, it's hard to remember whose side you're on. Jesse Sullivan's father commands a dark and terrible army under the guise of beloved church leader. Jesse and her friends must hide deep undercover for fear of arrest or murder by his faithful followers. Their every move brings risk of discovery. And when your enemy can control minds and teleport at will, there isn't a single place in the world where you can hide... Worth Dying For is the fifth book in the "smart, imaginative, and insanely addictive" urban fantasy series. The books do not have to be read in order, but the author recommends it!

Product Details :

Author by Kory M. Shrum
Genre eBook Fiction
Read Book 330
ISBN Number

Worth Dying For


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

An account of the events that took place from the time of Benigno Aquino's assassination to the victory of Corazon Aquino and the flight of Ferdinand Marcos uncovers the truth about the Philippines revolution

Product Details :

Author by Lewis M. Simons
Genre eBook Philippines
Read Book 320
ISBN Number UOM:39015012872274

The Only Thing Worth Dying For


Available: macOS, Windows, Android, Tablet

Eric Blehm, author of the award-winning The Last Season, is back with another true adventure story, The Only Thing Worth Dying For. Set in the immediate aftermath of 9/11, The Only Thing Worth Dying For chronicles the untold story of the team of Green Berets led by Captain Jason Amerine that conquered the Taliban and helped bring Hamid Karzai to power in Afghanistan. In the tradition of Black Hawk Down, The Only Thing Worth Dying For is, in the words of former Congressman Charlie Wilson (from Charlie Wilson's War), "the one book you must read if you have any hope of understanding what our fine American soldiers are up against in Afghanistan."

Product Details :

Author by Eric Blehm
Genre eBook History
Read Book 432
ISBN Number 9780061959790